Daytime long exposures

There are some aspects of my moonlight photography that I want to try and replicate during the daytime so I thought it was about time to start trying out the technique of daytime long exposures… well actually, I’ve been trying this out for a few months now.

Playa de la Vega, Asturias

Playa de la Vega, Asturias

There is a technique for taking “open shutter” photographs using a neutral density filter and of course a tripod during the daytime. The effect on things like the sea and / or clouds is quite surreal at times; cloud and sea movement becomes a directional blur that can often look like mist.

Cala del Plomo, Cabo de Gata

Cala del Plomo, Cabo de Gata

When used together with reflections the results can be amazing and sometimes much better than I could have predicted.

I have been trying to capture situations where there is both movement and stillness in the water and the sky and yesterday went to a beautiful beach not too far away called Cala del Plomo to practice my technique. What I found was an area to the left of the beach where rockpools of perfectly clear, still water were juxtaposed against an agitated sea (if you got the angle right) and the light was perfect, as it always is!

I love developing ideas using this technique but it requires a special kind of situation in which to take these kind of photographs. The beauty of living where I live is that there are no end of these special kind of situations. Come and see for yourself and let me show you how it’s done 🙂

Contact me to find out more:
http://martynthompson.net
martyn@martynthompson.net

Facebook – Join me on Facebook
Twitter – Follow me on Twitter
Etsy – Visit my Etsy shop

Leave a Reply

